Spires Music is an organisation that exists to give Coventry, Warwickshire and the local region greater access to the riches of the classical musical repertoire from musicians performing at a professional level.

It was founded in 2005 by Colin Touchin, formerly Director of Music at Warwick University, as a means of fulfilling a desire to create the opportunity for professional and advanced non-professional musicians to work together to provide high quality choral and orchestral performances. It has grown from three or four concerts a year, but has expanded in the last year.

Spires Music comprises the Spires Philharmonic Orchestra (SPO) and the Spires Philharmonic Chorus (SPC). From 2011 to 2015 we also ran the Spires Youth Orchestra to allow young musicians between 11 and 21 to perform at the highest level possible in the region. With the merger of the Coventry Youth Orchestra with Warwickshire youth music activites in 2015, we closed the SYO to give the new Coventry and Warwick Youth Orchestra the best chance. We encourage young musicians to join the CWYO, but the most able (grade 8 or above) are welcome to audition for the professional/amateur Spires Philharmonic Orchestra.

For further background details see this page here, and for all other information about the organisation, please use the links at the bottom of each page.

Next Event — Saturday 22 April 2017 at 2.30 pm.
Brahms and Schubert

Holy Trinity Church, Priory Row, Coventry, CV1 5EX

Spires Philharmonic Orchestra and Chorus present two works in the next concert: Brahms' Symphony No 4 in E minor, and Schubert's Mass No 5 in Ab.

Soloists in the Schubert are Imogen Faris (Soprano), Charlotte Ireland (Mezzo-Soprano), Tim Down (Tenor), and Jerzy Olsson-Nagorski (Bass-Baritone).

The concert will be conducted by Colin Touchin.

Tickets are available at the door and from Coventry Information Centre, Cathedral Ruins, Bayley Lane, CV1 5RN. Telephone: 024 7622 5616; Email: tic@coventry.gov.uk. Admission is £12 (£8 concessions), Family: £24 and Students: £5.

Please download our poster here for all details.

Programme notes

We have now added programme notes for the two works in this concert at the following links. These will open in a separate tab.
Brahms Symphony No 4
Schubert Mass No 5 in Ab


This site does not use Cookies. For further information please see our privacy statement.